Thursday, November 9

Book BLAST: The Tides Between by Elizabeth Jane Corbett

Happy Thursday! Today I am super excited to be kicking off Elizabeth Jane Corbett's The Tides Between Book Blast! The Tides Between is a historical coming-of-age novel set in the steerage compartment of a nineteenth century emigrant vessel. It includes elements of magic and storytelling and will be released on October 20th from Odyssey Books.

The Tides Between by Elizabeth Jane Corbett

Publication Date: October 20, 2017
Odyssey Books
Paperback; 300 Pages
Genre: Fiction/Young Adult/Historical



She fancied herself part of a timeless chain without beginning or end, linked only by the silver strong words of its tellers. In the year 1841, on the eve of her departure from London, Bride's mother demands she forget her dead father and prepare for a sensible, adult life in Port Phillip. Desperate to save her childhood, fifteen-year-old Bridie is determined to smuggle a notebook filled with her father's fairytales to the far side of the world. When Rhys Bevan, a soft-voiced young storyteller and fellow traveller realises Bridie is hiding something, a magical friendship is born. But Rhys has his own secrets and the words written in Bridie’s notebook carry a dark double meaning. As they inch towards their destination, Rhys's past returns to haunt him. Bridie grapples with the implications of her dad’s final message. The pair take refuge in fairytales, little expecting the trouble it will cause.

Pick up your copy from Odyssey Books

About the Author

When Elizabeth Jane Corbett isn’t writing, she works as a librarian, teaches Welsh at the Melbourne Celtic Club, writes reviews and articles for the Historical Novel Society and blogs at elizabethjanecorbett.com. In 2009, her short-story, Beyond the Blackout Curtain, won the Bristol Short Story Prize. Another, Silent Night, was short listed for the Allan Marshall Short Story Award. An early draft of her debut novel, The Tides Between, was shortlisted for a HarperCollins Varuna manuscript development award. Elizabeth lives with her husband, Andrew, in a renovated timber cottage in Melbourne’s inner-north. She likes red shoes, dark chocolate, commuter cycling, and reading quirky, character driven novels set once-upon-a-time in lands far, far away. For more information, please visit Elizabeth Jane Corbett's website. You can also connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

Book Blast Schedule

  Monday, October 16 Passages to the Past 
  Tuesday, October 17 The Never-Ending Book 
  Wednesday, October 18 A Book Geek 
  Thursday, October 19 The Reading Queen 
  Friday, October 20 Pursuing Stacie What Is That Book About 
  Sunday, October 22 Faery Tales Are Real 
  Monday, October 23 Myths, Legends, Books & Coffee Pots 
  Tuesday, October 24 Creating Herstory 
  Wednesday, October 25 History From a Woman's Perspective 
  Thursday, October 26 Jenn's Book Vibes 
  Friday, October 27 WS Momma Readers Nook 
  Monday, October 30 I Heart Reading 
  Tuesday, October 31 Back Porchervations 
  Wednesday, November 1 T's Stuff 
  Friday, November 3 A Holland Reads 
  Monday, November 6 Broken Teepee 
  Tuesday, November 7 Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers 
  Thursday, November 9 CelticLady's Reviews 
Locks, Hooks and Books 
Carole Rae's Random Ramblings 
  Friday, November 10 What Cathy Read Next

5 comments:

Hannercymraes said...

Thanks for being part of my Book Blast!
Elizabeth Jane Corbett

Melliane said...

This one is new to me

Carole Rae said...

Elizabth, thanks for having me!!

Melliane, :) me too!

Amy Bruno said...

Thanks so much for hosting Elizabeth's Book Blast, Carole!

Carole Rae said...

Always a joy!