Monday, April 17

Blodeuedd's Monday Review: The Girls of Ennismore by Patricia Falvey

Ireland, 1900. Two girls meet. They are from vastly different worlds, but will be united in friendship through loves, losses and wars. A sweeping, heartrending saga for fans of Lesley Pearse and Rosie Clarke. 

It's the early years of the twentieth century, and Victoria Bell and Rosie Killeen are best friends. Growing up in rural Ireland's County Mayo, their friendship is forged against the glorious backdrop of Ennismore House. However, Victoria, born of the aristocracy, and Rosie, daughter of a local farmer, both find that the disparity of their class and the simmering social tension in Ireland will push their friendship to the brink... 

My thoughts:
Victoria was the daughter of the big house, and she wanted a friend.

Rosie was the daughter of a tenant farmer, and if Victoria wanted a friend then Rosie's dad could not say no. And here was the first proof of the underlying tensions in the book. Sure it works out and they study together and become friends, but Rosie is always less.

This is more of a saga, we follow them during 17 years of their lives.And well since we start in 1900 you get what we will see. The beginning of WW1, tensions growing in Ireland, the Easter uprising. A country in turmoil.

They will grow up. Things will happen. Victoria is destined for one life, and Rosie for another.

Victoria was spoiled at first, not in a bad way, more in a naive way at times. She really did not see the whole truth.

While Rosie was a bit resentful at times. Which I get.

There will hardships, romance, friendship. Two women, two destinies. It really is their story.


Paperback, 480 pages
Expected publication: April 6th 2017 by Corvus
Historical fiction /saga
For review

About Blodeuedd the Reviewer

I love books, my cat and chocolate. You can never go wrong with a long walk through the woods and sitting down afterwards with a cup of tea and a good book/movie. I read most genres and blog over at Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell 


Carole Rae said...

Victoria sounds like a spoiled B.

Melliane said...

it looks interesting, mainly during this period

Blodeuedd said...

LOL, well she was spoiled. Growing up like that, everyone bowing to you.

Anachronist said...

But your cat, Lucifer, is ginger-white, not grey-white, like in this pic!